Welcome to the Franconian Brewery Museum!

In 1979, out of a love of brewing tradition and pure, fresh beer, the master brewer founded the association Franconian Brewery Museum in the beer-producing town of Bamberg (Fränkisches Brauereimuseum in der Bierstadt Bamberg e.V.). Join us at our 900 m² exhibition space in the magnificent vaults of the former Benedictine monastery brewery, founded in 1122, for a fascinating journey through the history of beer.

With over 1400 exhibits, we share beloved beer culture and the exciting journey from the stalk to the glass with you. Marvel at authentic stages in the process, such as the brewhouse, malthouse, fermenting and storage cellar, cold cellar, cooperage, filtration, barrel filling and bottling.

In the old brewhouse, you will also find a training room and lecture theatre for fascinating tasting lessons and beer seminars.

Alongside the technical and cultural significance of brewing in Franconia, the FBM also protects brewers', malters' and coopers' old traditions. FBM is also an information centre, with all you need to know about the fascinating, culturally significant international beverage that is beer, located in the heart of the region which boasts the most breweries in the world.

"Beer: know more, enjoy more"

Front door of the FBM

Herzlich Willkommen - Ein Besuch lohnt sich!

Eingang FBM All unseren Mitgliedern, Freunden und Förderern, ein gesegnetes Weihnachtsfest und ein genussreiches Bierjahr 2015!

Aus Liebe zur Brautradition und reinem, frischem Bier gründeten im Jahre 1979 Braumeister den Förderverein "Fränkisches Brauereimuseum in der Bierstadt Bamberg e.V." Erleben Sie auf rund 900 m2 Ausstellungsfläche in den herrlichen Gewölben der ehemaligen Benediktiner-Klosterbraustätte (gegr. 1122) eine faszinierende Reise durch die Biergeschichte.

Mit über 1400 Exponaten vermitteln wir Ihnen geliebte Bierkultur und den spannenden Werdegang vom Halm zum Glas. Sie können folgende authentische Abteilungen bei uns bestaunen: Sudhaus, Mälzerei, Gär- und Lagerkeller, Eiskeller, Buttnerei, Filtration und die Fass- und Flaschenabfüllung.

Im alten Sudhaus befindet sich u.a. ein Schulungs- und Vortragsraum für erlebnisreiche Verkoster­schulungen und Bierseminare.

Das FBM hat neben der technischen und kulturhistorischen Bedeutung für das Brauwesen in Franken auch die Aufgabe, das Brauchtum der Brauer, Mälzer und Büttner zu pflegen. Darüber hinaus ist das FBM ein Informationszentrum rund um das genussreiche Kultur-, Welt- und Erlebnisgetränk Bier inmitten der Region mit den meisten Braustätten der Welt.

"Mehr vom Bier wissen - Mehr vom Bier haben"

Eingang FBM